Long wait almost over


Jets' captain Alex Janovsky says match practise is now the key before the NPL restart.

Moreton Bay United’s senior men will be back in action this weekend – 119 days after their last NPL fixture.

Captain Alex Janovsky fired in a last-minute free-kick at title-chasing Gold Coast Knights to clinch a deserved 1-1 draw on March 14.

It was our final match before the shutdown, but that ends when Jets face Samford in a warm-up game at Wolter Park on Sunday - Under 20s kick-off 3pm, Senior Men 5pm.

“Everyone is back and ready to get going,” said Alex, “we hope it’s football as usual now. The boys are really keen to get back to games.

“A lot of effort has gone into the last few weeks in training. I think we’ve had some good weeks. It’s been like a mini preseason with fitness and running.

“Now we want to be tough and competitive and ready for games. It’s the game play and competitiveness we’ve missed. Games are the big thing.”

Jets will travel to Rochedale on July 18 (Under 20s at 3pm, Senior Men 5pm) for another warm-up fixture before their NPL season resumes at Redlands on July 25.

That is followed by trips to Gold Coast United and Capalaba then our first home game of the restart – a derby clash with Peninsula Power.

Jets’ 2-2 draw with Mackay Crusaders will be removed after Crusaders were unable to rejoin the NPL this season.

“We all hope it’s football as usual now,” said Alex, “it's a credit to the culture we have here and the squad that everyone enjoys being here. “I thought there may be issues around the prolonged season and extended leave, but everyone is back and ready to get going.

“I think we can definitely pick up where we left off, carry that momentum forward and I hope do something special at the back end of the year.”

JETS' REVISED FIXTURES

Saturday July 25 – Redlands v Jets 7pm

Sunday August 2 – Gold Coast United v Jets 4pm

Saturday August 8 – Capalaba v Jets 6.45pm

Sunday August 16 – Jets v Peninsula Power 3pm

Saturday August 22 – Jets v Easts 5pm

Tuesday August 25 – Jets v Capalaba 7.30pm

Saturday August 29 – Brisbane City v Jets 5.30pm

Sunday September 6 – Brisbane Roar v Jets 2pm

Wednesday September 9 – Peninsula Power v Jets 7.30pm

Sunday September 13 – Jets v Lions 3.30pm

Sunday September 20 – Sunshine Coast Wanderers v Jets 4pm

Bye weekend

Saturday October 3 – Jets v Brisbane Strikers 7pm

Wednesday October 7 – Olympic v Jets 7.30pm

Saturday October 10 – Jets v Gold Coast Knights 7pm

Saturday October 17 – Jets v Redlands 5pm

Sunday October 25 – Jets v Gold Coast United 3pm

Saturday October 31 – Easts v Jets 7pm

Saturday November 7 – Jets v Brisbane City 6pm

Sunday November 15 – Jets v Brisbane Roar 5pm

161 views
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Flickr - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle

©2018 Moreton Bay United Football Club | All rights reserved. No part of this site may be reproduced without our written permission.