top of page

Trio off to nationals

Off to the National Youth Championships: from left - Mia Afoa, Olivia Morris and Mia Green

Congratulations to Mia Green, Mia Afoa and Olivia Morris who have been selected by Queensland for the 2022 National Youth Championships (NYC).

Mia Green, who has been a regular in Moreton Bay United’s (MBU) senior women’s NPL side this season, is in the state’s Under 16 Maroon squad.

Olivia Morris is in the Under 14 Maroons, with Mia Afoa in the Shadow Players’ squad for the titles at C.ex Coffs International Stadium in Coffs Harbour from September 19-23.

MBU Academy Director Matt Poole said: “I am extremely happy for all three girls on their selections in their respective NYC groups.

“The fact they have gained selection in teams dominated almost completely by current QAS players is testament to their performances this year. It’s also a glowing endorsement of female development at MBU.

“Despite her age, Mia (Green) has been a large part of the Senior NPLW team this season.

"We have seen Mia really progress through the year and given a girl of her age has played week-in week-out in midfield, against seasoned senior players, outlines her obvious potential and ability as a player.

“Olivia is a tremendous young talent and it is no surprise she has been selected in the U14 NYC team. Olivia is one of only two girls in Queensland who are playing in their own age-group in the U14 NPL Boys Academy League (highest level of junior boys competition).

“At an age where the physicality of the boys really increases, only extremely talented girls are able to continue to perform at this level. I’m excited to see what Olivia can do at NYC.

“Mia's (Afoa) selection as a shadow player for the U14 NYC team, while still U13, is also a huge achievement. Mia played in the U12 Boys SAP team in 2021, and played in the U13 NPL Boys Academy team for half of this season before moving into our U16 girls group.

“Mia is a highly talented player with untapped potential and one of the best players in the state for her age-group."

Football Queensland State Technical Director Gabor Ganczer said with a number of FQ Academy players at the AFF Under 18 Women's Championship, the NYC is a "great opportunity for young Queenslanders to vie for selection in future national teams”.

U14 Queensland Maroon Squad

Lilli Dunn (GK) FQ Academy QAS

Ciara Evans (GK) FQ Academy QAS

Isabela Hoyos FQ Academy QAS

Hayley Campbell FQ Academy Far North and Gulf

Arabella Ryan FQ Academy QAS

Greta Howard FQ Academy QAS

Mackenna Magill FQ Academy QAS

Amber Faherty FQ Academy QAS

Shelby McMahon Gold Coast Knights

Rosie McMahon FQ Academy QAS

Olivia Morris Moreton Bay United

Lily Simpson FQ Academy QAS

Lily Punch FQ Academy QAS

Shayla Williams FQ Academy QAS

Emily Doring FQ Academy QAS

Alyssa O’Grady FQ Academy QAS

State Team Coach: Liz Doherty

Shadow Players – U14 Queensland Maroon Squad

Sophie King FQ Academy QAS

Michaela Foster FQ Academy QAS

Kayla Murcutt FQ Academy QAS

Mia Afoa Moreton Bay United

Huntah Wilson FQ Academy QAS

Alana Hill FQ Academy Far North and Gulf

Georgie Zerbst Gold Coast United

Asher Berman-Hardman FQ Academy Far North and Gulf

India Berman-Hardman FQ Academy Far North and Gulf

Jesse Levenson Sunshine Coast Wanderers

U16 Queensland Maroon Squad

Layne Chapman FQ Academy Northern

Kaitlin McCormack FQ Academy QAS

Dani Casey Poila FQ Academy QAS

Emily Ferroussat FQ Academy QAS

Sian Costigan FQ Academy QAS

Amali Kinsella FQ Academy QAS

Sarah Birchall Olympic FC

Mia Green Moreton Bay United

Georgia Dean FQ Academy QAS

Tully Heatley FQ Academy QAS / Far North and Gulf

Sierra McCaffrey FQ Academy QAS

Lila Falchetti FQ Academy QAS / Far North and Gulf

Ashlee Hummel Brisbane City

Grace Kuilamu FQ Academy QAS

Daisey Bateman FQ Academy QAS

Alyssa Borodin FQ Academy QAS

State Team Coach: Kelly Crew

Shadow Players – U16 Queensland Maroon

Layla Adams Gold Coast United

Violet McKee FQ Academy QAS

Ella Schultz Sunshine Coast Wanderers

Katie Sherar Peninsula Power

Libby Latimer FQ Academy QAS

Jade Uhlmann FQ Academy QAS

Cleo Trevett-Lyall FQ Academy QAS

bottom of page